Mick Schumacher feels that he "signalled his intentions" during his incident with George Russell at the Singapore Grand Prix.
Russell attempted to overtake Schumacher at Turn 1 on Lap 40 of the race, but the two cars knocked tyres and both were forced to make a pit-stop for a puncture.
This ultimately left them both outside of the points, with Schumacher bringing his Haas home in P13 while Russell ended the day in the last classified positon of 14th.
While Russell has said that he was "not too sure what happened" in the clash, Schumacher has suggested that he tried to make his intentions clear to the Mercedes driver on track.
Schumacher explains Russell incident
"I think that we all know George has quite a bit of a faster car under his feet," Schumacher told media, including RacingNews365.com, after the race.
"In my view, I did signal my intentions of not wanting him to go by, because I felt like the conditions were too wet to try and overtake.
"I felt like I was on the dry line. He was trying to come back to the dry line but, obviously, that was taken by my car. Then we both had a puncture, or at least I had a puncture."
The stewards deemed that no action was necessary over the incident and, when asked if he was surprised by this decision, the German said: "I can't judge on that. I'm not a steward.
"I haven't seen it [from outside], so it's hard for me to judge exactly. I just know what happened in the car. But obviously, I want to analyse it from the outside to make sure that I have the right answer."
Viewed by others:
Could points have been possible for Schumacher?
Had it not been for the incident – along with misfortune during the Safety Car periods – Schumacher believes that he could have scored strong points at the Marina Bay Street Circuit.
"I think points [were possible]," he explained.
"Obviously, the big killer was the pit-stop and strategy-wise, but nobody can predict something like this.
"Daniel [Ricciardo] got very lucky [after finishing P5 from P16 on the grid], and you see where he finished.
"So I think that, in that sense, P6 could have been possible if maybe we'd stayed out for one more lap."
Schumacher's Haas teammate Kevin Magnussen also missed out on points, having finished the race in P12.
F1 Podcast: Should Perez’s Singapore penalty have been decided during the race?
RacingNews365.com F1 journalists Dieter Rencken and Michael Butterworth discuss the key topics from the Singapore Grand Prix, including whether Sergio Perez's punishment should have been decided during the race rather than after.