Welcome at RacingNews365

You are logged in. Benefit directly from all the benefits of your account:

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits

Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Brazilian Grand Prix 2022

Refresher: How does the 2022 F1 Sprint qualifying format work?

The third and final F1 Sprint race takes place at this weekend's Brazilian Grand Prix. RacingNews365.com gives you a reminder of how the 2022 format works.

Verstappen Sainz Leclerc Austria Sprint 2022
To news overview © XPBimages

The Interlagos Circuit plays host to the final 'Sprint' weekend format of the 2022 F1 season, with additional points up for grabs on Saturday.

This season's Sprints have already been held at Imola in Italy and the Red Bull Ring in Austria, with Brazil being the final event to secure the bonus points.

The Brazilian Grand Prix location is the first repeat Sprint race venue, having also been one of the three chosen circuits in 2021, along with Silverstone and Monza.

On a Sprint race weekend, qualifying is moved to Friday evening, followed by a 100-kilometre Sprint race on Saturday – the result of which determines the starting grid for the Grand Prix itself.

What is the points system?

The traditional three-session, knockout qualifying hour as we know it remains in place, taking place on Friday, and this determines the grid order for Saturday's Sprint.

After backlash from drivers last season, Pole Position is still officially declared as being the driver who tops the Friday qualifying session. Last season, the winner of the Sprint was controversially awarded as the Pole Position winner in the record books.

For 2022, the points-scoring system was modified to add greater importance to the Sprint races. Whereas points were only awarded to the top three finishers in 2021, this extended to the top eight for 2022.

The winner of the Sprint will receive eight points, and second place will receive seven, with this continuing in descending order down to one point for finishing eighth – meaning plenty more prizes will be up for grabs.

There is no additional fastest lap point in the Sprint, this remains only in the Grand Prix.

The finishing order of the Sprint will determine the entire grid for the Grand Prix on Sunday, meaning the Sprint winner will start Sunday's race from the front.

Also interesting:

Video: F1 pit-stops under two seconds are allowed (and THIS is why)

At the Mexico City Grand Prix, McLaren became the first team to complete a sub-two second pit-stop since the introduction of the new F1 pit-stop regulations, changing all four tyres on Daniel Ricciardo's car in 1.98 seconds.

So how did the team do this, and what changes have been made to F1's pit-stop procedure in the last couple of years?

F1 2022 Brazilian Grand Prix RN365 News dossier


Exclusive The development Red Bull must find to give Verstappen 'free' lap time