Welcome at RacingNews365

You are logged in. Benefit directly from all the benefits of your account:

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits

Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Singapore Grand Prix 2022

Mercedes fined as Hamilton escapes penalty in stewards summons

Lewis Hamilton was summoned to the stewards for breaching the International Sporting Code - as Mercedes are fined for the breach.

XPB 1174831 Hi Res
Article
To news overview © XPBimages

Lewis Hamilton has escaped penalty in his Singapore Grand Prix Formula 1 stewards summons, but Mercedes have been fined.

On Saturday, the seven-time World Champion was called to the stewards for a breach of Appendix L, Chapter III of the International Sporting Code.

This covers the wearing of jewellery in the car, and specifically Hamilton's nose-piercing.

It was a contentious point earlier in the season as the FIA tried to enforce the rule permitting jewellery - it long being ignored.

Hamilton's nose-piercing was in place on Saturday at Marina Bay - with the summons coming before Qualifying.

Hamilton escapes as Mercedes fined

In their decision issued after Qualifying - where Hamilton secured third - the stewards decided there would be no further action against the British driver.

This was because Hamilton had a doctor's note advising him against removing the piercing "for the time being."

Further credence was added by a medical practitioner, with FIA Deputy Medical Delegate Dr Ian Roberts happy with the reports.

However, Mercedes have been fined €25,000 for failure to ensure their self-scrutiny form for Hamilton's car was filled in correctly.

The form said that Hamilton did not have the piercing in place, with Mercedes unaware that Hamilton in fact did have it.

Although this was "unintentional", the stewards still fined Mercedes the sum and said simple enquiry could have been made to check with the 103-time Grand Prix winner could have been made before submitting the form.

Also interesting:

F1 Podcast: Does F1's grid penalty system need revising?

With confusion reigning for several hours over Max Verstappen's starting position for the Italian Grand Prix, does F1's grid penalty system need revising, and should there be a rule preventing races from ending under the Safety Car?

RacingNews365.com F1 journalists Dieter Rencken and Michael Butterworth discuss the key issues from the Italian Grand Prix.

F1 2022 Singapore Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

2 comments

x