Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Latest weather forecast for 2021 Hungarian GP

The battle between Red Bull and Mercedes will continue to soar this weekend, as will the conditions in Budapest as F1 makes its annual appearance in Hungary.

The Hungarian Grand Prix is set to be the warmest event of the 2021 Formula 1 season so far with occasional showers possibly affecting the on-track action. Things are heating up in the championship too with Max Verstappen just eight points ahead of title rival Lewis Hamilton in the Drivers' Standings following Red Bull's unsuccessful petition for a right to review Hamilton's penalty when the pair collided at Silverstone. Here's the latest weather forecast ahead of the event.

Hungarian GP Friday Weather

Friday will be a largely sunny affair with air temperatures reaching 33 degrees celcius. The wind is expected to not play a significant role which will give the teams ideal conditions to collect their data and get through their programmes. The two practice sessions will both be one hour in length at 11:30 CET (10:30 UK time) and 15:00 CET (14:00 UK time).

Hungarian GP Saturday Weather

If rain does hit the Hungaroring, it will arrive on Saturday with big downpours in the Budapest area. The temperature will be slightly lower at 30 degrees celcius. Rain is expected in the late morning during the third free practice session although this could be pushed back towards the start of qualifying. FP3 begins at 12:00 CET (11:00 UK time) with qualifying at 15:00 CET (14:00 UK time).

Hungarian GP Sunday Weather

The chances of rain on Sunday have decreased as the week has progressed as the forecast for the race has become similar to Friday's weather. At the race start, an air temperature of 34 degrees celcius is expected so the track temperature is almost certainly going to be above 50 degrees which could cause major problems for the tyres, potentially opening up the strategy options. Wind speeds will increase too at around 22km/h (14mp/h) during the Hungarian Grand Prix which begins at 15:00 CET (14:00 UK time).

x
LATEST Mercedes facing 'ultimate test' in Barcelona 'wind tunnel'