Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Can Ferrari win this year's championships? The trend it has to live up to

Ferrari took an impressive 1-2 result at the Australian Grand Prix as it aims to continue a trend that has been present at Albert Park since its debut.

Sainz Leclerc Australia
To news overview © XPBimages

Ferrari's 1-2 finish at the Australian Grand Prix marked the first time the Italian squad took the top two positions in Melbourne since 2004.

Carlos Sainz crossed the line ahead of teammate Charles Leclerc while McLaren's Lando Norris scored third for McLaren.

Ferrari's victory ended Red Bull and Max Verstappen's streak of nine in a row after the Dutchman retired with a brake issue, denying the Dutchman a chance to match his record of 10 consecutive wins.

Although Red Bull is still the favourite for this year's championships, a historical statistic has backed up a potential Ferrari title fight.

Albert Park has hosted the Australian GP every year since 1996 and in that time, on every occasion a team has scored a 1-2 finish at the event, it has gone on to secure both championships.

Below, you can see all of the 1-2 finishes in Melbourne, all of which have led to championship success for the same team.

Will Ferrari continue the trend?

Australian GP 1-2 finishes and championship winner

Year Australian GP 1-2 finish Champions
1996 Damon Hill - Jacques Villeneuve Damon Hill - Williams
1998 Mika Hakkinen - David Coulthard Mika Hakkinen - McLaren
2000 Michael Schumacher - Rubens Barrichello Michael Schumacher - Ferrari
2004 Michael Schumacher - Rubens Barrichello Michael Schumacher - Ferrari
2009 Jenson Button - Rubens Barrichello Jenson Button - Brawn GP
2015 Lewis Hamilton - Nico Rosberg Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes
2016 Nico Rosberg - Lewis Hamilton Nico Rosberg - Mercedes
2019 Valtteri Bottas - Lewis Hamilton Lewis Hamilton - Mercedes
2024 Carlos Sainz - Charles Leclerc ?

Subscribe to our YouTube channel and don't miss a thing of Formula 1

Subscribe to our Youtube channel

Join the conversation!

LATEST Hulkenberg set to sign for Audi