Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula 1 British Grand Prix 2024

Updated British Grand Prix grid after late penalty

The British Grand Prix starting grid at Silverstone has been given a late tweak.

XPB 1292712 Hi Res
To news overview © XPBimages

A power unit penalty for Sergio Perez means the Red Bull driver will now start the British Grand Prix from the pit lane.

Following another wretched qualifying performance in which Perez spun off at Copse where he beached his RB20 in the gravel, the Mexican was due to start from 19th on the grid due to Alpine's Pierre Gasly being hit with multiple penalties for a power unit change.

With Perez so far back, Red Bull has decided to take the opportunity to fit his car with a new internal combustion engine, energy store, and control electronics, all of which exceed the required quota for the season.

Unlike Gasly, whose new PU components were fitted before first practice on Friday, leading to grid penalties, those for Perez were done under parc fermé, automatically resulting in a pit lane start.

Up ahead of Perez, and for the first time since the 1968 South African Grand Prix - 951 world championship races ago - there is a British one-two-three on the grid. 

George Russell, Lewis Hamilton and Lando Norris locked out the first three places for their home British GP, following in the wheel-tracks of Jim Clark, Graham Hill and Jackie Stewart from January 1968. 

It is the first time it has happened at the British GP, with Russell edging out Hamilton at the death, with Norris losing a front-row slot after aborting his final lap due to a mistake. 

The first non-Briton is F1 champion Max Verstappen in fourth, after suffering major damage on his RB20 following an off at Copse in a wet/dry Q1.

Check out the full starting grid for the 2024 F1 British Grand Prix below.

Starting grid for 2024 F1 British Grand Prix

Position Driver Team
1st George Russell Mercedes
2nd Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
3rd Lando Norris McLaren
4th Max Verstappen Red Bull
5th Oscar Piastri McLaren
6th Nico Hulkenberg Haas
7th Carlos Sainz Ferrari
8th Lance Stroll Aston Martin
9th Alex Albon Williams
10th Fernando Alonso Aston Martin
11th Charles Leclerc Ferrari
12th Logan Sargeant Williams
13th Yuki Tsunoda RB
14th Zhou Guanyu Stake
15th Daniel Ricciardo RB
16th Valtteri Bottas Stake
17th Kevin Magnussen Haas
18th Esteban Ocon Alpine
19th Pierre Gasly - PENALTY Alpine
Pit lane Sergio Perez - PENALTY Red Bull

Join the conversation!

LIVE 2024 F1 Hungarian Grand Prix