Ferrari boss Mattia Binotto believes Singapore Grand Prix Formula 1 winner Sergio Perez should receive two separate penalties in his stewards investigation.
Perez won a timed race from pole-sitter Charles Leclerc, but has been called to the stewards for a Safety Car infringement.
It is alleged that he fell more than 10 car lengths behind it when it was deployed - with precedent stating that this is a penalty.
And Binotto believes that Perez should be penalised not once, but twice after two errors.
"He [made it] not one [time] but he made the same mistake twice by dropping [back]. [It is too big a mistake," Binotto told Sky Italy.
"When I get to history, like for example with [Antonio] Giovinazzi he just got a penalty for this, so I feel sorry that Perez didn’t get the penalty during the race.
"I don’t know why a decision was made immediately, maybe they didn’t want to rush the decision and take their time for the decision."
The stewards feel that hearing from Perez at 23:55 local time (16:55 BST) is required before making their ruling.
Viewed by others:
F1 Podcast: Does F1's grid penalty system need revising?
With confusion reigning for several hours over Max Verstappen's starting position for the Italian Grand Prix, does F1's grid penalty system need revising, and should there be a rule preventing races from ending under the Safety Car?
RacingNews365.com F1 journalists Dieter Rencken and Michael Butterworth discuss the key issues from the Italian Grand Prix.