Carlos Sainz has been hit with a five-place grid drop for the Mexico City Grand Prix, and handed two penalty points after colliding with Kimi Antonelli in Austin.
On Lap 6, Sainz attempted to dive up the inside of the Italian at Turns 15 and 16, but misjudged and biffed Antonelli off into the gravel, although the Mercedes was able to continue.
Sainz's front-wing was destroyed, and he quickly parked the FW47 and was promptly summoned to the stewards post-race.
In their findings, as Sainz could not be handed a time penalty after his retirement, he received the five-place grid drop for Mexico in lieu.
He also received the standard two penalty points for causing a collision, taking him to four for the 12-month period.
Read the full verdict below.
The Stewards heard from the driver of Car 55 (Carlos Sainz), the driver of Car 12 (Kimi Antonelli), team representatives and reviewed video and in-car video evidence.
Car 55 attempted an inside overtake on Car 12 at Turn 15, and a collision between the two cars occurred at the apex. The driver of Car 55 maintained that he had expected the driver of Car 12 to leave him space at the apex, but Car 12 turned in early, and Car 55 locked brakes when it became clear that a collision was unavoidable.
He suggested that the Driver of Car 12 ought to have anticipated an overtake attempt by Car 55 and left space to avoid contact. However, at no point prior to the apex was the front axle of Car 55 alongside or ahead of the mirror of Car 12.
Therefore, according to the Driving Standards Guidelines, Car 55 had not earned the right to be left space at the apex. The Stewards therefore determine that the Driver of Car 55 was predominantly to blame for the collision and a penalty is applied accordingly.
As the driver to be penalised did not finish the race, a grid penalty equalling a 10-second time penalty is imposed.
Most read
In this article
Join the conversation!