Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
F1 2022

All the numbers used by F1 drivers over the last seven years

F1 introduced a driver number rule ahead of the 2014 season, with drivers choosing a number with which to race for their entire career in the sport. Here is every number that has been used since the rule came into play.

Hamilton Perez Brazil
To news overview © Mercedes

Lewis Hamilton's #44, Max Verstappen's #33 – Formula 1's driver number rule has resulted in drivers becoming synonymous with their chosen numbers since the rule was introduced in 2014.

Since that season, every driver taking part in an F1 race has to choose a number between two and 99, with that number then assigned to them for the remainder of their careers.

A driver's career is ruled to have finished two full seasons after their final campaign, freeing up the number for use again.

An exception to the rule is for the reigning World Champion, who can choose to race with the number 1 if they wish. Verstappen has opted to do so in 2022, meaning the number appears on an F1 car for a full season for the first time since Sebastian Vettel did the same in 2014.

The other number that cannot be chosen is number 17. That was the race number of Jules Bianchi, with the young French driver passing away in 2015 after succumbing to injuries he sustained in a crash at the 2014 Japanese Grand Prix. His number was withdrawn by the FIA as a mark of respect.

Looking back over the years of the driver number rule, here is every number that has been used and the drivers who chose it.

Curiously, the majority of number choices are quite low, becoming more sparse as the numbers increase, before another small concentration in the higher numbers.

F1 driver numbers from 2014-2021

Number Driver
1 Vettel
2 Vandoorne
3 Ricciardo
4 Chilton/Norris
5 Vettel
6 Rosberg/Latifi
7 Raikkonen
8 Grosjean
9 Ericsson/Mazepin
10 Kobayashi/Gasly
11 Perez
12 Nasr
13 Maldonado
14 Alonso
16 Leclerc
17 Bianchi
18 Stroll
19 Massa
20 Magnussen
21 Gutierrez
22 Button/Tsunoda
23 Albon
25 Vergne
26 Kvyat
27 Hulkenberg
28 Stevens/Hartley
30 Palmer
31 Ocon
33 Verstappen
35 Sirotkin
40 Di Resta
44 Hamilton
45 Lotterer
47 Mick Schumacher
51 Fittipaldi
53 Rossi
55 Sainz
63 Russell
77 Bottas
88 Kubica/Haryanto
89 Aitken
94 Wehrlein
98 Merhi
99 Sutil/Giovinazzi

Also interesting:

F1 Podcast: Why F1 2022 could be the most exciting season ever

With huge changes being made to the F1 rule book for 2022, our journalists Dieter Rencken, Mike Seymour and Thomas Maher look ahead to the new season.

Subscribe to our YouTube channel and don't miss a thing of Formula 1

Subscribe to our Youtube channel

Join the conversation!

Chinese GP F1 Podcast What Ricciardo vs Stroll exposed about F1