Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Rosenqvist sizzles for McLaren as Indy 500 qualifying Fast Six confirmed

The Fast Six will return to the track later to battle for pole position for the Indianapolis 500.

Will Power failed to earn Team Penske representation in the Indy 500 Fast Six qualifying as Felix Rosenqvist set a blistering benchmark.

The drivers ran in reverse order from the top 12 in Saturday's initial qualifying session, with Power the first to roll out.

The Australian was the guinea pig for the rest of the field with track temperatures ramping up and he almost hit the wall between Turns 1 and 2 on the second of his four laps that count towards the average, eventually ending the session slowest.

Santino Ferrucci set the charts alight for A.J. Foyt Racing as the fourth driver in line, setting a benchmark four-lap average of 233.911 for those that followed him.

Ed Carpenter Racing fixed an issue on Rinus Veekay's Chevrolet in time for the Dutchman to challenge Ferrucci's benchmark, eventually slotting into second.

Alex Palou set the fastest single-lap speed but was unable to stay ahead of the average, though easily booked his place in the Fast Six.

Scott Dixon and Patricio O'Ward also qualified, but Felix Rosenqvist flew to the top with the final run of the session with the only average to break the 234mph mark.

Two Arrow McLarens struggled, however, with Alexander Rossi and Tony Kanaan fighting off balance issues as their runs developed.

Both drivers missed out on the final qualifying session, as did Takuma Sato, last year's winner Marcus Ericsson, Benjamin Pedersen and Power, with all six drivers' grid positions locked in for next Sunday's race.

Indianapolis 500 Top 12 qualifying results

Position Driver Team Mph
1 Felix Rosenqvist Arrow McLaren 234.081
2 Santino Ferrucci A.J. Foyt Racing 233.911
3 Rinus Veekay Ed Carpenter Racing 233.801
4 Alex Palou Chip Ganassi Racing 233.779
5 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing 233.430
6 Patricio O'Ward Arrow McLaren 233.229
7 Alexander Rossi Arrow McLaren 233.110
8 Takuma Sato Chip Ganassi Racing 233.098
9 Tony Kanaan Arrow McLaren 233.076
10 Marcus Ericsson Chip Ganassi Racing 232.889
11 Benjamin Pedersen [R] A.J. Foyt Racing 232.671
12 Will Power Team Penske 232.635

Subscribe to our YouTube channel and don't miss a thing of Formula 1

Subscribe to our Youtube channel

Join the conversation!

LIVE 2024 F1 Chinese Grand Prix - Qualifying