Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Red Bull Racing

Red Bull dominance threatens astonishing 70-year F1 streak

Could Red Bull break the incredible run by continuing its staggering run of form?

Red Bull's dominance of Formula 1 this season leaves a streak that has stood for 70 years at risk of being broken.

Max Verstappen and Sergio Perez have secured all eight race victories thus far this term, with the two-time World Champion taking six of those to canter into a 69-point lead at the top of the Drivers' standings.

The Milton Keynes-based team has been tipped to secure victory in every race this season to become the first outfit to achieve the feat, but despite its Midlands base in the United Kingdom, the Austrian national anthem is played during the podium ceremony due to the energy drink's roots.

If Red Bull was to stop Mercedes and Aston Martin from securing a win this year, it would be the first time since 1952 the British anthem would not be played during the podium ceremony.

A Briton has won a race in all but seven seasons since 1953, with UK-based teams filling the gaps in between to ensure the anthem was played.

George Russell kept the streak going at the 11th hour last season with victory for Mercedes at the penultimate race of the campaign in Brazil – the 21st British driver to secure an F1 win.

Will the streak be ended? Take a look at the full list of British winners during the 70-year run below!

British F1 winners (since 1953)

Year Drivers who won (Team if no driver wins) Driver wins
1953 Mike Hawthorn One
1954 Mike Hawthorn One
1955 Stirling Moss One
1956 Stirling Moss, Peter Collins Four
1957 Stirling Moss, Tony Brooks Four
1958 Mike Hawthorn, Stirling Moss, Tony Brooks, Peter Collins Nine
1959 Stirling Moss, Tony Brooks Four
1960 Stirling Moss Two
1961 Stirling Moss, Innes Ireland Three
1962 Graham Hill, Jim Clark Seven
1963 Graham Hill, Jim Clark, John Surtees 10
1964 Graham Hill, Jim Clark, John Surtees Seven
1965 Graham Hill, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart Nine
1966 Jim Clark, John Surtees, Jackie Stewart Four
1967 Jim Clark, John Surtees Five
1968 Graham Hill, Jim Clark, Jackie Stewart Seven
1969 Graham Hill, Jackie Stewart Seven
1970 Jackie Stewart One
1971 Jackie Stewart, Peter Gethin Seven
1972 Jackie Stewart Four
1973 Jackie Stewart Five
1974 [McLaren, Lotus, Tyrrell, Brabham]
1975 James Hunt One
1976 James Hunt, John Watson Seven
1977 James Hunt Three
1978 [Lotus, Tyrrell, Brabham]
1979 [Williams]
1980 [Williams, Brabham]
1981 John Watson One
1982 John Watson Two
1983 John Watson One
1984 [McLaren, Brabham, Williams]
1985 Nigel Mansell Two
1986 Nigel Mansell Five
1987 Nigel Mansell Six
1988 [McLaren]
1989 Nigel Mansell Two
1990 Nigel Mansell One
1991 Nigel Mansell Five
1992 Nigel Mansell Nine
1993 Damon Hill Three
1994 Damon Hill, Nigel Mansell Seven
1995 Damon Hill, Johnny Herbert, David Coulthard Seven
1996 Damon Hill Eight
1997 David Coulthard Two
1998 David Coulthard, Damon Hill Two
1999 Eddie Irvine, David Coulthard, Johnny Herbert Seven
2000 David Coulthard Three
2001 David Coulthard Two
2002 David Coulthard One
2003 David Coulthard One
2004 [McLaren, Williams]
2005 [McLaren]
2006 Jenson Button One
2007 Lewis Hamilton Four
2008 Lewis Hamilton Five
2009 Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton Eight
2010 Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton Five
2011 Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton Six
2012 Jenson Button, Lewis Hamilton Seven
2013 Lewis Hamilton One
2014 Lewis Hamilton 11
2015 Lewis Hamilton 10
2016 Lewis Hamilton 10
2017 Lewis Hamilton Nine
2018 Lewis Hamilton 11
2019 Lewis Hamilton 11
2020 Lewis Hamilton 11
2021 Lewis Hamilton Eight
2022 George Russell One

Join the conversation!

RESULTS 2024 F1 Hungarian Grand Prix - Qualifying