Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Former F1 driver triumphs with Porsche at Daytona 24

A former F1 driver was among those to take the overall win during the 24 hours of Daytona sportscar race.

Daytona 2024 #31: Whelen Cadillac Racing, Cadillac V-Series.R, GTP: Pipo Derani, Jack Aitken, Tom Blomqvist, #7: Porsche Penske Motorsports, Porsche 963, GTP: Matt Campbell, Felipe Nasr, Dane Cameron, Josef Newgarden
To news overview © Courtesy of IMSA

Porsche took their 19th overall victory at the Daytona 24 Hours after a thrilling battle for the lead with Cadillac.

The factory Porsche 963 driven by former F1 driver Felipe Nasr, Dane Cameron, Matt Campbell, and IndyCar racer Josef Newgarden took the overall win of the race.

Nasr managed to build up an 18-second lead before a final caution for debris, which led to a nearly four-hour green flag stretch which saw Tom Blomqvist take the lead in the Cadillac.

The Porsche driver then jumped ahead of Blomqvist in the final pit stops, with the Brazilian managing to hold off pressure in the final 20 minutes of the race.

Confusion over chequered flag

There was confusion at the end when IMSA race control declared that the white flag was out to signify the end, only for the clock to still have two-and-a-half minutes left. This resulted in teams taking the chequered flag twice.

At the end of the race Nasr crossed the line with 791 laps completed and two seconds clear of Blomqvist.

The Wayne Taylor Racing Andretti Acura driven by 2009 F1 World Champion Jenson Button finished in third, which he shared with Louis Deletraz - who took the flag - Jordon Taylor, and Colton Herta.

Join the conversation!

REPORT Red Bull file FIA complaint over McLaren trick