Welcome at RacingNews365

You are logged in. Benefit directly from all the benefits of your account:

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits

Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Bahrain Grand Prix 2022

FIA hand out first reprimands of the 2022 F1 season

The race stewards at the Bahrain Grand Prix have issued their first judgements of the 2022 season, reprimanding two drivers after Friday's track action.

Tsunoda Bahrein
Article
To news overview © RN365/Michael Potts

The stewards in Bahrain have opted to reprimand both Yuki Tsunoda and Lance Stroll for on-track incidents during the second practice session in Bahrain.

Tsunoda and Stroll, as well as Ferrari's Charles Leclerc, were summoned due to two incidents – both of which involved Tsunoda.

In the first, Leclerc and Tsunoda encountered each other at Turn 8, with the Ferrari driver almost tagging the back of the AlphaTauri exiting the corner as the pair appeared to misunderstand the intentions of the other.

Tsunoda was thus given a reprimand for the incident, marking his first reprimand of the season, with no penalty points attached for such a judgement.

"[Tsunoda] impeded [Leclerc], who was on fast lap with new tyres at Turn 8, causing [Leclerc] to abandon his lap," read the stewards' explanation.

"[Tsunoda] says he was pushing on an out lap for a long, high fuel run. However, the stewards consider that a driver on an out lap must always be aware of faster cars approaching and, although this did not create a dangerous situation, they determine that this is a breach of the above regulation and they impose a reprimand in this case."

Stroll reprimanded for impeding Tsunoda

Moments after the incident with Leclerc, Tsunoda himself was blocked by Stroll at the apex of Turn 8, as the Aston Martin driver pulled across the apex when Tsunoda had stuck his nose up the inside. Both were lucky to avoid damage in the incident.

"After both cars had taken the chequered flag at the end of the session, [Stroll] turned into Turn 8 whilst [Tsunoda] was approaching quickly to the inside, unnecessarily impeding [Tsunoda] and causing minor contact," read the stewards' verdict.

"[Stroll] says he was travelling slowly in preparation for a practice start and was looking in his mirrors, but the closing speed from cars behind travelling much more quickly meant he did not see [Tsunoda] when approaching Turn 8.

"The stewards acknowledge this, and note that the team did not give the driver any radio warning of approaching cars, but consider that the driver has responsibility for maintaining awareness of cars around them and that this applies equally on the lap after the chequered flag.

"The stewards therefore determine that this is a breach of the above regulation and impose a reprimand in this case."

The incident also marks Stroll's first reprimand of the year, with no penalty points attached.

Also interesting:

F1 Podcast: Previewing the 2022 Formula 1 season

Ahead of the season-opening Bahrain Grand Prix, F1 journalists Dieter Rencken, Mike Seymour and Thomas Maher preview the 2022 season.

F1 2022 Bahrain Grand Prix RN365 News dossier

0 comments

x