Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Logan Sargeant

Extensive damage rules Sargeant out of FP2 in Japan

Logan Sargeant hit the barrier in a heavy way during FP1, which has now ruled him out of the second session at the Japanese Grand Prix.

Sargeant FP1 crash
Article
To news overview © XPBimages

Logan Sargeant will not take part in the second free practice session at the Japanese Grand Prix following his crash during FP1.

Sargeant hit the wall at Turn 7 after dipping his tyre onto the grass which veered him into the gravel and into the wall.

Team principal James Vowles told media including RacingNews365 after the session that it would be difficult to get Sargeant back onto the track for the second practice outing.

However, the Grove-based squad has now confirmed that the American will be sidelined for the session.

“Due to the extent of damage to Logan’s car, he will not participate in FP2,” read a short statement.

“The team will continue repairs in time for tomorrow’s Free Practice session.”

Sargeant's chassis, which is the component that was repaired after Alex Albon's crash in Australia, has not been damaged.

Join the conversation!

x
LATEST Perez: ‘There are reasons why’ drivers struggle at Red Bull