Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Formula E

Dennis claims emphatic Mexico City E-Prix victory

Jake Dennis claimed a dominant victory at the season-opening Mexico City E-Prix ahead of Pascal Wehrlein and Lucas di Grassi.

Dennis Formula E Mexican E Prix
To news overview © Formula E

Jake Dennis took a comprehensive victory at the Mexico City E-Prix ahead of Pascal Wehrlein and pole sitter Lucas di Grassi.

The Andretti driver made an early move for P1 before claiming a several second lead and securing the fastest lap of the race.

Dennis' race-winning move came on lap twelve. Following two early safety car periods, the Briton made an opportunistic move on the inside of di Grassi at Turn 3.

From there, Dennis was rarely troubled, and continued to build a lead of several seconds whilst maintaining an advantage on energy levels.

Wehrlein, who started the race in P6, scythed his way through the field by overtaking McLaren's Jake Hughes and di Grassi to claim second, but was unable to reel in Dennis.

With the top two spreading out, the battle for the final podium place intensified, with Mahindra driver di Grassi defending hard from Hughes and the second Andretti of Andre Lotterer.

With Hughes requiring some last-lap energy saving, he backed away from challenging di Grassi, who secured third, and conceding to Porsche's Lotterer to fall to fifth.

World Champions suffer, Frijns sustains injury

Envision Racing's Sebastien Buemi and Porsche's Antonio Felix da Costa threatened to join in the fight for the podium, but were unable to mount challenges and settled for P6 and P7 respectively.

Last season's runner up Mitch Evans could only manage P8, ahead of the second Envision Racing car of Nick Cassidy.

Reigning World Champion Stoffel Vandoorne could not recover from a low-key qualifying effort, but managed to claim a point for the DS Penske team.

There was concern for Abt Cupra driver Robin Frijns, who had an unusual crash on the opening lap of the race. The collision into the back of Norman Nato broke the Dutchman's wrist, and he will be a major doubt for the upcoming Formula E races.

Sam Bird's difficult weekend with Jaguar turned into a disaster when the Briton retired with driveshaft issues.

Race Results - 2023 Mexico City E-Prix

Position Driver Team
1 Jake Dennis Avalanche Andretti
2 Pascal Wehrlein Porsche
3 Lucas di Grassi Mahindra Racing
4 Andre Lotterer Avalanche Andretti
5 Jake Hughes McLaren
6 Sebastien Buemi Envision Racing
7 Antonio Felix da Costa Porsche
8 Mitch Evans Jaguar TCS Racing
9 Nick Cassidy Envision Racing
10 Stoffel Vandoorne DS Penske
11 Maximilian Guenther Maserati MSG Racing
12 Jean-Eric Vergne DS Penske
13 Oliver Rowland Mahindra Racing
14 Nico Muller ABT Cupra
15 Sacha Fenestraz Nissan
16 Sergio Sette Camara NIO 333 Racing
17 Dan Ticktum NIO 333 Racing
DNF Rene Rast McLaren
DNF Edoardo Mortara Maserati MSG Racing
DNF Sam Bird Jaguar TCS Racing
DNF Norman Nato Nissan
DNF Robin Frijns ABT Cupra

In this article

Join the conversation!

LATEST Schumacher wagers Russell's Mercedes future could be 'in danger'