Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

2022 Formula E drivers

Who is driving in Formula E in 2022? A number of new drivers will make it onto the 2021/22 Formula E grid, as well as many returning favourites. But who should you keep your eye on in the new season?

Formula E grid 2022 © Formula E

The 2022 Formula E World Championship will see 11 teams and 22 drivers compete in the highest class of competition for electric open-wheel racing cars that is recognised by the FIA.

Last season, Nyck de Vries claimed the World Championship for the first time in the Mercedes-EQ Formula E car, with the squad also coming out on top in the Teams' Championship thanks to the contributions of the Dutch driver and teammate Stoffel Vandoorne.

In order to get you up to date for the 2021/22 campaign, here's a closer look at the 22 drivers that will take the grid.

Ones to watch

Nyck de Vries - Following a stellar junior career, which included winning the 2019 F2 Championship, many expected de Vries to make the step up to Formula 1. However, the Dutchman instead headed for Formula E to link up with the Mercedes-Benz EQ team, and won the championship in his debut season. Can he follow this up in 2022?

Edoardo Mortara - After three seasons of finishing outside of the top 10 in the Drivers' standings, Mortara finally experienced more success in the 2020/21 Formula E season. The driver ended the year second in the championship, and will be hoping to go one better this time around.

Jake Dennis - Dennis brought with him a sizeable amount of experience in his relatively young motorsport career when he arrived into Formula E last season. The British driver won two races for the BMW i Andretti Motorsport team, and this helped him to secure P3 in the World Championship.

Sam Bird - Bird is a true veteran of the Formula E grid, having competed in its first-ever year back in 2014/15. Since then, the 35-year-old has been one of the most consistent drivers around, regularly scoring points, with 11 career wins to his name. He ended the 2020/21 campaign sixth in the standings.

			© Mercedes
	© Mercedes

Familiar faces to F1 fans

Jean-Eric Vergne - The Frenchman is arguably the most well-known of all the former F1 drivers on the Formula E grid. Vergne spent three seasons in Formula 1 between 2012 and 2014 but, after losing his Toro Rosso seat at the end of that year, he turned his attentions to all things electric. Vergne is the only man to have won the Formula E title twice.

Sebastien Buemi - Interestingly, Buemi lost his F1 seat to Vergne back in 2011, after the Swiss driver himself spent three seasons in the sport with Toro Rosso. The comparisons don't end there, as Buemi has also won the Formula E championship back in 2016. Overall, the 33-year-old has 13 wins in the series to his name, and will again race for the Nissan e.dams team in 2022.

Pascal Wehrlein - Despite once being a prominent member of the Mercedes Junior Driver Programme, things didn't quite work out as planned for the German in Formula 1. He left the sport in 2017 after two seasons but, undeterred, Wehrlein soon found a home on the Formula E grid. Racing for the TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team, he will have an excellent opportunity in 2022 to break his race win duck, having only achieved two poles and podiums thus far.

Stoffel Vandoorne - Vandoorne spent just two full seasons in F1, where he struggled to beat the veteran Fernando Alonso at McLaren during their time as teammates. Thankfully for the Belgian driver, Formula E would provide him with the perfect platform in which he could demonstrate his talent. Linking up with the Mercedes-Benz EQ team, he took his maiden victory in the final race of 2020, and will be hoping for further success in 2022.

			© Mercedes Formula E
	© Mercedes Formula E

New Formula E drivers for 2022

Antonio Giovinazzi - Another name familiar to F1 fans, Giovinazzi has made the switch to Formula E after losing his seat at Alfa Romeo following three seasons with the team. The Italian will race for the Dragon/Penske Autosport outfit alongside the returning Sergio Sette Camara.

Dan Ticktum - Ticktum may also be known to many Formula 1 fans, given that he was previously a development driver for the Williams team before being dropped in 2021. The Briton also competed in F2 in 2020 and 2021, but will now try his luck in Formula E as a driver for the NIO 333 Formula E Team.

Oliver Askew - Jake Dennis is joined at the Avalanche Andretti Formula E squad by Askew, who makes his debut in the series following a career in his native United States. Askew was previously Indy Lights Champion in 2019.

2022 Formula E drivers and teams

Team Powertrain Drivers
Avalanche Andretti Formula E BMW iFE.21 Jake Dennis and Oliver Askew
Dragon/Penske Autosport Penske EV-5 Sergio Sette Camara and Antonio Giovinazzi
DS Techeetah DS E-TENSE FE21 Antonio Felix da Costa and Jean-Eric Vergne
Envision Virgin Racing Audi e-tron FE07 Robin Frijns and Nick Cassidy
Jaguar TCS Racing Jaguar I-TYPE 5 Sam Bird and Mitch Evans
Mahindra Racing M7Electro Alexander Sims and Oliver Rowland
Mercedes Benz EQ Formula E Team Silver Arrow 02 Stoffel Vandoorne and Nyck de Vries
NIO 333 Formula E Team NIO 333 001 Oliver Turvey and Dan Ticktum
Nissan e.dams Nissan IM03 Maximilian Guenther and Sebastien Buemi
ROKiT Venturi Racing Silver Arrow 02 Edoardo Mortara and Lucas di Grassi
TAG Heuer Porsche Formula E Team Porsche 99X Electric Andre Lotterer and Pascal Wehrlein
RESULTS 2024 F1 Monaco Grand Prix - Qualifying