Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Mexican Grand Prix 2021

Which F1 drivers will take grid penalties at the Mexican GP?

Five drivers have been awarded a grid penalty for the Mexican GP, which has the potential to be another exciting race.

Norris Mexico
To news overview © McLaren

A quarter of the field have been hit with grid penalties for the Mexican Grand Prix, including Lando Norris and Yuki Tsunoda, who will both be looking to quickly move up the order.

A limit of just three engines for the 22-race schedule has given the teams a headache, which is why there have been an increasing number of grid penalties recently, a trend that is likely to continue at the remaining events.

Here's a look at how grid penalties in Formula 1 work.

16th: George Russell

George Russell suffered a gearbox problem on Friday in the second free practice session, which Williams have confirmed was on his race unit.

They have fitted a new gearbox into Russell's car, which has triggered a five-grid place penalty, because the British driver hadn't completed the required six consecutive events for a fresh gearbox.

17th: Yuki Tsunoda

Yuki Tsunoda qualified highest of the drivers who have taken on excessive power unit elements, so will start from 17th.

Tsunoda has a new Internal Combustion Engine, Turbocharger, MGU-K and MGU-H in his AlphaTauri. Franz Tost still thinks points are possible for Tsunoda in Mexico.

18th: Lando Norris

Lando Norris became the latest driver with a Mercedes power unit in his car to take a grid penalty. The McLaren driver has a new Internal Combustion Engine, as well as a new Turbocharger and a new MGU-H.

Norris could be the driver who makes up the most positions in the race, and will be eager to limit the damage in McLaren's ongoing battle against Ferrari in the Constructors' Championship.

19th: Esteban Ocon

Esteban Ocon has taken a new element for each of the power unit components and a ninth exhaust.

Ocon qualified behind Tsunoda and Norris, so will start from the last row of the grid for Alpine. He could be in for a difficult afternoon at the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez.

20th: Lance Stroll

Lance Stroll's Aston Martin has been fitted with a new Internal Combustion Engine, Turbocharger, MGU-H and Control Electronics.

Stroll will start from the very back after he crashed in qualifying at the exit of the final corner on his first flying lap.

Also interesting:

Video: The secrets of the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez circuit

Follow Rudy van Buren as he takes you on a flying lap around the Autodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, home of the F1 Mexican Grand Prix.

F1 2021 Mexico City Grand Prix RN365 News dossier


LATEST Hamilton: Winning title in a Red Bull 'does nothing for me'