Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in
Red Bull Racing

New Red Bull junior wins FIA Rookie prize ahead of F2 and F1 drivers

Recently-signed Red Bull junior driver Zane Maloney has secured the FIA Rookie of the Year award ahead of opposition from F1 and F2 drivers.

Zane Maloney has taken the Rookie of the Year award at the FIA Prize Giving ceremony in Bologna.

The Barbadian claimed the award after his successful year in Formula 3, where he narrowly finished second to Victor Martins in his first season in the series.

His strong showing recently earned him a place on Red Bull junior driver roster, alongside the likes of Liam Lawson, Ayumu Iwasa, Jehan Daruvala and F3 rival Isack Hadjar.

His efforts this season have seen him rewarded with the FIA's Rookie of the Year award, an accolade often handed to Formula 1 and Formula 2 drivers.

Previous winners include Max Verstappen, Charles Leclerc (twice a winner for his rookie seasons in F2 and F1), Alex Albon and Yuki Tsunoda.

Maloney fought off competition from higher racing categories, including Guanyu Zhou (F1) and Logan Sargeant (P4 in F2).


LATEST Brundle: 'Team Verstappen' were surprised by Perez pace